Tuesday, April 30, 2013


Halifax's leading dance music record label LaserSquid Music is excited to be presenting its second annual all day festival showcasing the best in local electronic music producers & DJ's. Held at Alderney Landing Theatre on Sunday May 5th, the event will play host to 31 local artists including ECMA nominees Dezza and PEI's Sp00nfed. The event is all ages and free to the public from 12 noon to 8pm, with tickets sold for an evening portion running 8pm-2am. With an extensive lineup of artists scheduled to perform attendees can expect a wide variety of electronic music, from high energy dancefloor oriented tunes to more downtempo and experimental styles. Performances will be spread across two stages, taking up the entire second floor of the Alderney Landing theatre. With the seating raised to the ceiling the theatre space transforms into a 600 person capacity ballroom and there will be local artists and craftspeople vending in the entrance/rotunda space. Bringing in professional quality sound and light gear and with the support of our team of volunteers, this event will transform Alderney Landing into a feast for the eyes and ears. This event was organized with the support of HRM civic events staff and is part of National Youth Arts Week, which aims to celebrate and strengthen youth's connections and contributions to the arts.

Doors open at 12 noon with music running until 2am. Tickets for the evening event are $15 and will be on sale through the Alderney Landing Box Office. 

LaserSquid Music was founded in the winter of 2010 by a like-minded group of local artists driven by a passion for music. Determined to put Nova Scotia's electronic music scene on the map, the label pursued its goals by seeking out and releasing music by the best local artists, and nurturing emerging talent to become all they can be. 

Full Lineup:

DEZZA (Spinnin, Oxygen Records, 2013 EMCA nominee)
Sp00nfed (Scuffed Records, 2013 ECMA nominee)
P-80 (Code of Arms, Freak2Freak, LaserSquid, RAW Records)
Dono & The Real Molloy
P-80 (Code of Arms, Freak2Freak, LaserSquid, RAW Records)
Mat Trouble (Noiseporn Audio, Freak2Freak, LaserSquid Music)
Method (Halifield, No Affiliation Crew)
Buck Banger (Halifield, No Affiliation)
Loukas Stilldrunk (No Affiliation Crew, 2013 DJ Olympics Club mixing champion)
JonBob (LaserSquid, Severed Digit, DTRASH Recordings)
PINEO (3rd place The Coast best DJ 2013)
Dartmouthian (LaserSquid Music, Nova Psycotia)
Acid Reflex (LaserSquid Music)
Ruby Booms (LaserSquid Music)
TheJuice (Thejuice902.com, Bass Bias Records)
Coree Jamez (Underdog)
TightWarm (Melted, MLP)
Deep Roots (LaserSquid Music)
SYSTMS (LaserSquid Music)
Zora The Sultan (2013 DJ Olympics Turntablism champion)
Snug (LaserSquid)
Wet Paint (Melted)
Elfinity (Nova Psycotia)
KDZ (Home Bass)
Nagwoode (Broken Records, Lasersquid Music)
Delicious Mike 
Fever Pitch
Kenzie Gunn
The Metrognome
Fever Pitch


Post a Comment